Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search

Search The Catalog


Back To Results
Showing Item 1 of 5

This is my america [electronic resource]. Kim Johnson.

Johnson, Kim. (Author).

Digital Content

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780593118788 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: electronic resource
    remote
    1 online resource
  • Publisher: 2020.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "Incredible and searing." — Nic Stone , #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system. Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time—her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy's older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a "thug" on the run, accused of killing a white girl. Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town's racist history that still haunt the present? Fans of Nic Stone, Tiffany D. Jackson, and Jason Reynolds won't want to miss this provocative and gripping debut.
Target Audience Note:
Text Difficulty 2 - Text Difficulty 3
UG/Upper grades (9th-12)
640 Lexile.
4.3 ATOS Level
Reproduction Note:
Electronic reproduction. New York : Random House Books for Young Readers, 2020. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 2469 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Subject: Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature
Genre: Electronic books.
Back To Results
Showing Item 1 of 5

Additional Resources